Press Release

2018 Student Photographer of the Year

Anita Weston-2018 Student Scholarship Award Chairman

Professional Photographers of Washington

The Professional Photographers of Washington are happy to announce the winner of the Student Photographer of the Year Scholarship. The $2000 scholarship will be awarded to: Carmen Lopez Gordillo of Eisenhower High (Yakima, WA). Carmen is a senior graduating in 2018 and was selected from applications submitted by student photographers representing schools throughout Washington State.  Carmen Lopez Gordillo will receive a $2000 Scholarship grant, which will be used to further her study in the photographic arts.  Carmen plans on attending University of Washington where she will major in Visual Arts with a focus on photography. She plans on becoming a photo journalist. The scholarship was presented to Carmen on March 28th at the Professional Photographers of Washington annual conference held in Lynnwood, WA.


Students applied for this scholarship, presenting an application, which included a portfolio of their work, a personal essay and two recommendations from teachers or mentors in photography.  Members of the Professional Photographers of Washington juried the applicants.  In addition to Carmen, Alex Ropka of Glacier Peak High (Snohomish), Nathan Yee of Eisenhower High (Yakima), and Rohini Mettu of Skyline High (Sammamish) rounded out our top 4 finalists. Also note the following students who were selected for our top 10 finalists: Annamarie Romo of Glacier Peak High (Lake Stevens), Danielle Johnson of Hanford High (Richland), Maryjane Samuels of Decatur High (Federal Way), Julia Footh of Bainbridge High (Bainbridge Island), Kylie Johnston of Glacier Peak High (Snohomish) and Nolan Hibbard-Pelly of Capital High (Olympia)These top finalists were singled out for their high achievement in the photographic field, scholastic studies, and the student’s wish to further their studies in the photographic arts.


The Professional Photographers of Washington applaud these schools for their quality teaching in the photographic arts and preparing their students for their future careers.


You can find and download photographs of the winner and top entries on:

For further information contact:

Anita Weston, AFP

Student Photographer of the Year Scholarship Chairperson

Professional Photographers of Washington